Veterinary technician examination—frequency, fees, 8.2, 8.3
VETERINARY MEDICINE BOARD
Notice of Intended Action
Proposing rule making related to veterinary technician examination
and providing an opportunity for public comment
The Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine hereby proposes to amend Chapter 8, "Auxiliary Personnel," Iowa Administrative Code.
Legal Authority for Rule Making
This rule making is proposed under the authority provided in Iowa Code section 169.5.
State or Federal Law Implemented
This rule making implements, in whole or in part, Iowa Code section 169.9.
Purpose and Summary
The proposed amendments allow the examinations for veterinary technicians to be offered more frequently than annually. The fee for the examination would be changed from $25 plus a $10 administrative fee to a fee up to $50 as set by the Board plus an administrative charge set by the Board. Applicants would be limited to five attempts to obtain a passing score, unless the Board gives approval for an additional attempt.
The average number of applicants testing is 70, and the Board does not have immediate plans to increase the fee for the examination, which is currently $25 plus a $10 administrative fee.
After analysis and review of this rule making, no impact on jobs has been found.
Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rule making would result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Board for a waiver of the discretionary provisions, if any.
Any interested person may submit written comments concerning this proposed rule making. Written comments in response to this rule making must be received by the Board no later than 4:30 p.m.on February 6, 2018. Comments should be directed to:
Wallace State Office Building
502 East 9th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319
No public hearing is scheduled at this time. An oral presentation regarding this rule making may be demanded by 25 interested persons, a governmental subdivision, an agency, or an association of 25 or more persons as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.4(1)"b."
Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee
The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which oversees rule making by executive branch agencies, may, on its own motion or on written request by any individual or group, review this rule making at its regular monthly meeting or at a special meeting. The Committee's meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.8(6).
The following rule-making actions are proposed:
Item 1. Amend rules 811—8.2(169) and 811—8.3(169) as follows:
811—8.2(169) Registration of veterinary technicians. All veterinary technicians shall be under the direct control of the board and shall be registered with the state veterinarian, bureau of animal industry, Iowa department of agriculture and land stewardship. Each veterinary technician must pass both a written and practical test the veterinary technician national examination and a veterinary technician state examination as approved by the board. Applications for registration shall be obtained from and remitted to the board. Successful candidates Applicants who have passed both examinations shall be issued a certificate by the board stating that the named candidate is registered as a veterinary technician.
811—8.3(169) Examination. The veterinary technician state examination shall be given at least once annually at a site or sites to be designated by the board at least 60 days before the date of the examination. The board may provide for additional veterinary technician state examinations as deemed appropriate. In the event the board provides for additional examinations, the site or sites of the examination shall be designated by the board at least 60 days prior to the date of the examination.
8.3(1) An application fee of $25 in an amount determined by the Board not to exceed $50 shall accompany the application to take the examination veterinary technician state examination; and both the fee and the application must be received by the board at least 60 30 days before the examination. An additional fee shall be submitted for the veterinary technician national board written examination as provided by the when a professional examination service , when is utilized by the board as part of their examination process, which shall be the fees charged for the examination by the professional examination service plus $10 for the costs of administration. Examinations shall be given annually in June at a site to be designated by the board at least 30 days before the date of the examination The additional fee shall be the charges for the examination by the professional examination service plus administrative costs in an amount determined by the board. The fee for the veterinary technician state examination may be waived for qualifying military service personnel upon request.
8.3(2) An applicant who fails to earn a passing score on the veterinary technician state examination shall be entitled to retake the examination not earlier than 90 days since the applicant last took the examination. The applicant must submit a new application and the application fee in accordance with subrule 8.3(1) to retake the veterinary technician state examination. An applicant is limited to five total attempts at the veterinary technician state examination; any additional applications to retake the examination beyond the five allowable attempts may be considered by the board and may be granted at the board's discretion.
Item 2. Amend 811—Chapter 8, implementation sentence, as follows: