Notice of Intended Action

Quality assurance assessment levels for nursing facilities, 36.6(2)

Untitled document

ARC 3785C

HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT[441]

Notice of Intended Action

Proposing rule making related to assessment levels for nursing facilities and providing an opportunity for public comment

The Human Services Department hereby proposes to amend Chapter 36, "Facility Assessments," Iowa Administrative Code.

Legal Authority for Rule Making

This rule making is proposed under the authority provided in Iowa Code section 249A.4.

State or Federal Law Implemented

This rule making implements, in whole or in part, Iowa Code section 249A.4 and 2015 Iowa Acts, chapter 137 (Senate File 505).

Purpose and Summary

This proposed rule making will amend the assessment level for nursing facilities effective July 1, 2015. The assessment level was changed at the rebase of nursing facility costs on July 1, 2015. Providers were notified of the assessment level with Information Letter 1610 dated February 3, 2016. Providers have been remitting the amounts. This rule making ensures that the rules reflect current practice.

Fiscal Impact

This rule making has no fiscal impact to the State of Iowa.

Jobs Impact

After analysis and review of this rule making, no impact on jobs has been found.

Waivers

Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rule making would result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Department for a waiver of the discretionary provisions, if any, pursuant to 441—1.8(17A,217).

Public Comment

Any interested person may submit written comments concerning this proposed rule making. Written comments in response to this rule making must be received by the Department no later than 4:30 p.m. on May 29, 2018. Comments should be directed to:

Harry Rossander

Bureau of Policy Coordination

Department of Human Services

Hoover State Office Building, Fifth Floor

1305 East Walnut Street

Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0114

Email: policyanalysis@dhs.state.ia.us

Public Hearing

No public hearing is scheduled at this time. As provided in Iowa Code section 17A.4(1)"b," an oral presentation regarding this rule making may be demanded by 25 interested persons, a governmental subdivision, the Administrative Rules Review Committee, an agency, or an association having 25 or more members.

Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee

The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which oversees rule making by executive branch agencies, may, on its own motion or on written request by any individual or group, review this rule making at its regular monthly meeting or at a special meeting. The Committee's meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.8(6).

The following rule-making action is proposed:

Amend subrule 36.6(2) as follows:

36.6(2) Assessment level. Effective July 1, 2012, the assessment level for each nursing facility shall be determined on an annual basis and shall be effective for the state fiscal year.

a. Effective July 1, 2011 2015, nursing facilities with 46 or fewer licensed beds are required to pay a quality assurance assessment of $1 $1.36 per non-Medicare patient day. Effective with assessment for the state fiscal year beginning July 1, 2012, the number of licensed beds on file with the department of inspections and appeals as of May 1 of each year shall be used to determine the assessment level for the following state fiscal year.

b. Nursing Effective July 1, 2015, nursing facilities designated as continuing care retirement centers (CCRCs) by the insurance division of the Iowa department of commerce are required to pay a quality assurance assessment of $1 $1.36 per non-Medicare patient day. Effective with assessment for the state fiscal year beginning July 1, 2012, continuing care retirement center designations as of May 1 of each year shall be used to determine the assessment level for the following state fiscal year.

c. Nursing Effective July 1, 2015, nursing facilities with annual Iowa Medicaid patient days of 26,500 or more are required to pay a quality assurance assessment of $1 $1.36 per non-Medicare patient day. Effective with assessment for the state fiscal year beginning July 1, 2012, the annual number of Iowa Medicaid patient days reported in the most current cost report submitted to the Iowa Medicaid enterprise as of May 1 of each year shall be used to determine the assessment level for the following state fiscal year.

d. All Effective July 1, 2015, all other nursing facilities are required to pay a quality assurance assessment of $5.26 $7.13 per non-Medicare patient day.

Human Services Department

Closed For Comments

This notice is now closed for comments. Collection of comments closed on 5/29/2018.

Official Document

  • Quality assurance assessment levels for nursing facilities, 36.6(2)
  • Published on 5/9/2018
  • 162 Views , 0 Comments
  • Notice of Intended Action

The official published PDF of this document is available from the Iowa General Assembly’s Administrative Rules page.

View Official PDF

View the Iowa Administrative Bulletin for 5/9/2018.

View Bulletin

Administrative Rule References

The following administrative rule references were added to this document. You may click a reference to view related notices.

Rule 441-36.6(2)

Keywords

The following keywords and tags were added to this document. You may click a keyword to view related notices.

Assessment level
Click To Comment