Veterinary technician state examination—fee, 8.3(1)
VETERINARY MEDICINE BOARD
Adopted and Filed
Rule making related to veterinary technician examination fees
The Veterinary Medicine Board hereby amends Chapter 8, "Auxiliary Personnel," Iowa Administrative Code.
Legal Authority for Rule Making
This rule making is adopted under the authority provided in Iowa Code section 169.5.
State or Federal Law Implemented
This rule making implements, in whole or in part, Iowa Code section 169.9.
Purpose and Summary
The amendment clarifies that if a veterinary technician state examination is given by a professional examination service, an additional fee may be charged. The rule currently states that a fee may be charged by a professional examination service for the national veterinary technician examination.
Public Comment and Changes to Rule Making
Notice of Intended Action for this rule making was published in the Iowa Administrative Bulletin on June 6, 2018, as ARC 3821C. No public comments were received. No changes from the Notice have been made.
Adoption of Rule Making
This rule making was adopted by the Board on July 25, 2018.
This rule making has no fiscal impact to the State of Iowa. The state currently conducts the veterinary technician state examination. If a professional examination service conducted the examination and charged a fee, the fee would go to the company.
After analysis and review of this rule making, no impact on jobs has been found.
Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rule making would result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Board for a waiver of the discretionary provisions, if any.
Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee
The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which oversees rule making by executive branch agencies, may, on its own motion or on written request by any individual or group, review this rule making at its regular monthly meeting or at a special meeting. The Committee's meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.8(6).
This rule making will become effective on September 19, 2018.
The following rule-making action is adopted:
Amend subrule 8.3(1) as follows:
8.3(1) An application fee in an amount determined by the board not to exceed $45 shall accompany the application to take the veterinary technician state examination; both the fee and the application must be received by the board at least 30 days before the examination. An additional fee shall be submitted for the veterinary technician national examination when a professional examination service is utilized by the board. The additional fee shall be the charges for the examination by the professional examination service plus administrative costs in an amount determined by the board. The fee for the veterinary technician state examination may be waived for qualifying military service personnel upon request.
[Filed 7/25/18, effective 9/19/18]
Editor's Note: For replacement pages for IAC, see IAC Supplement 8/15/18.