Adopted and Filed

Training requirements for chronic pain management and end-of-life care for permanent or special license renewal; definition of “opioid,” 11.1, 11.4(1)

Untitled document

ARC 4338C

MEDICINE BOARD[653]

Adopted and Filed

Rule making related to training requirements for permanent or special license renewal

The Board of Medicine hereby amends Chapter 11, "Continuing Education and Training Requirements," Iowa Administrative Code.

Legal Authority for Rule Making

This rule making is adopted under the authority provided in Iowa Code chapter 272C and 2018 Iowa Acts, House File 2377.

State or Federal Law Implemented

This rule making implements, in whole or in part, Iowa Code chapter 272C and 2018 Iowa Acts, House File 2377.

Purpose and Summary

This rule making amends the continuing education and training requirements for renewal of an Iowa medical license for chronic pain management and end-of-life care.

Public Comment and Changes to Rule Making

Notice of Intended Action for this rule making was published in the Iowa Administrative Bulletin on January 2, 2019, as ARC 4204C. A public hearing was held on January 22, 2019, at 10 a.m. at the Board's office, Suite C, 400 S.W. Eighth Street, Des Moines, Iowa. No one attended the public hearing. No public comments were received.

This rule making has been revised to allow a physician to attest as part of the license renewal process that the licensee is not subject to the training requirement for chronic pain management if the licensee did not prescribe opioids to a patient during the previous licensure cycle.

Adoption of Rule Making

This rule making was adopted by the Board on February 8, 2019.

Fiscal Impact

This rule making has no fiscal impact to the State of Iowa.

Jobs Impact

After analysis and review of this rule making, no impact on jobs has been found.

Waivers

Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rule making would result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Board for a waiver of the discretionary provisions, if any, pursuant to 653—Chapter 3.

Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee

The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which oversees rule making by executive branch agencies, may, on its own motion or on written request by any individual or group, review this rule making at its regular monthly meeting or at a special meeting. The Committee's meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.8(6).

Effective Date

This rule making will become effective on April 17, 2019.

The following rule-making actions are adopted:

Item 1. Adopt the following new definition of "Opioid" in rule 653—11.1(272C):

"Opioid" means any FDA-approved product or active pharmaceutical ingredient classified as a controlled substance that produces an agonist effect on opioid receptors and is indicated or used for the treatment of pain.

Item 2. Amend subrule 11.4(1) as follows:

11.4(1) Continuing education and training requirements.

a. Continuing education for permanent license or administrative medicine license renewal. Except as provided in these rules, a total of 40 hours of category 1 credit or board-approved equivalent shall be required for biennial renewal of a permanent license or an administrative medicine license. This may include up to 20 hours of credit carried over from the previous license period and category 1 credit acquired within the current license period.

(1)To facilitate license renewal according to birth month, a licensee's first license may be issued for less than 24 months. The number of hours of category 1 credit required of a licensee whose license has been issued for less than 24 months shall be reduced on a pro-rata basis.

(2)A licensee desiring to obtain credit for carryover hours shall report the carryover, not to exceed 20 hours of category 1 credit, on the renewal application.

b. Continuing education for special license renewal. A total of 20 hours of category 1 credit shall be required for annual renewal of a special license. No carryover hours are allowed.

c. Training for identifying and reporting child and dependent adult abuse for permanent or special license renewal. The licensee in Iowa shall complete the training for identifying and reporting child and dependent adult abuse as part of a category 1 credit or an approved training program. The licensee may utilize category 1 credit received for this training during the license period in which the training occurred to meet continuing education requirements in paragraph 11.4(1)"a."

(1)Training to identify child abuse. A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to children in Iowa must complete at least two hours of training in child abuse identification and reporting every five years. "A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to children" means all emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, pediatricians, and psychiatrists, and any other physician who regularly provides primary health care to children.

(2)Training to identify dependent adult abuse. A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to adults in Iowa must complete at least two hours of training in dependent adult abuse identification and reporting every five years. "A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to adults" means all emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, internists, obstetricians, gynecologists, and psychiatrists, and any other physician who regularly provides primary health care to adults.

(3)Combined training to identify child and dependent adult abuse. A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to adults and children in Iowa must complete at least two hours of training in the identification and reporting of abuse in dependent adults and children every five years. The training may be completed through separate courses as identified in subparagraphs 11.4(1)"c"(1) and (2) or in one combined two-hour course that includes curricula for identifying and reporting child abuse and dependent adult abuse. "A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to children and adults" means all emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, internists, and psychiatrists, and any other physician who regularly provides primary health care to children and adults.

d. Training for chronic pain management for permanent or special license renewal. Rescinded by 2018 Iowa Acts, House File 2377, section 23, effective 7/1/18. The licensee shall complete the training for chronic pain management as part of a category 1 credit. The licensee may utilize category 1 credit received for this training during the license period in which the training occurred to meet continuing education requirements in paragraph 11.4(1)"a."

(1)A licensee who has prescribed opioids to a patient during the previous license period must complete at least two hours of category 1 credit regarding the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) guideline for prescribing opioids for chronic pain, including recommendations on limitations on dosages and the length of prescriptions, risk factors for abuse, and nonopioid and nonpharmacologic therapy options, every five years. A licensee may attest as part of the license renewal process that the licensee is not subject to the requirement to receive continuing medical education credits pursuant to this paragraph, due to the fact that the licensee did not prescribe opioids to a patient during the previous licensure cycle.

(2)A licensee who had a permanent or special license on January 1, 2019, has until January 1, 2024, to complete the chronic pain management training and shall then complete the training once every five years thereafter.

e. Training for end-of-life care for permanent or special license renewal. The licensee shall complete the training for end-of-life care as part of a category 1 credit. The licensee may utilize category 1 credit received for this training during the license period in which the training occurred to meet continuing education requirements in paragraph 11.4(1)"a."

(1)A licensee who regularly provides primary health direct patient care to actively dying patients in Iowa must complete at least two hours of category 1 credit for end-of-life care every five years. "A licensee who regularly provides primary health care to patients" means all emergency physicians, family physicians, general practice physicians, internists, neurologists, pain medicine specialists, psychiatrists, and any other physician who regularly provides primary health care to patients.

(2)A licensee who had a permanent or special license on August 17, 2011 January 1, 2019, has until August 17, 2016 January 1, 2024, to complete the end-of-life care training, and shall then complete the training once every five years thereafter.

[Filed 2/14/19, effective 4/17/19]

[Published 3/13/19]

Editor's Note: For replacement pages for IAC, see IAC Supplement 3/13/19.

Medicine Board


This Organization is a part of the Public Health Department

Official Document

  • Training requirements for chronic pain management and end-of-life care for permanent or special license renewal; definition of “opioid,” 11.1, 11.4(1)
  • Published on 3/13/2019
  • 226 Views
  • Adopted and Filed

The official published PDF of this document is available from the Iowa General Assembly’s Administrative Rules page.

View Official PDF

View the Iowa Administrative Bulletin for 3/13/2019.

View Bulletin

Related Notices

Administrative Rule References

The following administrative rule references were added to this document. You may click a reference to view related notices.

Rule 653-11.1 Rule 653-11.4(1) Rule 653-11.4(1)"a" Rule 653-11.4(1)"c"

Keywords

The following keywords and tags were added to this document. You may click a keyword to view related notices.

Continuing education and training requirements Continuing education for special license renewal
Click To Comment